The National Energy Cluster (NEK) connects companies working in the energy sector, mainly in the production of heat. It was founded in 2008 by Dalkia ČR, the joint stock company, KHK of the Moravian-Silesian Region, VŠB – TU Ostrava, the Energy Research Centre and others. At present it has 21 members. It is active in the areas of research and development, promotion of the association and promotion of energy literacy amongst the public, where it implements programmes supported by the EU.


The cluster is funded using the so called PPP principle where the funding is based on pooling the cluster’s own resources from the members’ contributions and subsidies from the EU structural funds.


The areas of interest of the National Energy Cluster:


Research and development, inovations

  • purchasing of laboratory equipment
  • purchasing and running of experimental equipment
  • implementation of research activities

Education, energy literacy of the general public

  • internships and practical trainings for secondary school and apprentice centres students 
  • placements and practical training for university students
  • further education of employees of cluster members

Marketing and promotion                                                     

  • realisation of exhibitions and trade-fairs
  • realisation of specialist round-tables, seminars and conferences
  • publications, promotion materials

International cooperation                 

and more...



What is a cluster?

Cluster is a territorially concentrated network of cooperating companies, specialized suppliers, service providers, affiliated institutions and organizations. Their cooperative links have the potential to strengthen and increase their competitiveness.


The cluster's vision

"Within 10 years, we would like to ensure energy self-sufficiency in accordance with the principles of sustainable development for the Moravian-Silesian Region, as this is the second most advanced industrial part of the Czech Republic."



  • cooperation on the energy concept of the state
  • supporting the implementation of EU legislation into the Czech legislation
  • promoting the use of renewable energy sources and promotion and education for energy savings
  • supporting small and medium-sized enterprises in the region
  • supporting research and development in the field of energy and the environment
  • cooperation on the solution of the use of secondary energy sources in the Moravian-Silesian region for energy purposes
  • participation in increasing the energy literacy, in particular of young people






Plenary Meeting

The Plenary meeting is the supreme body of the association, each member has one vote.


Executive Board

The Executive board is the executive body of the association and manages activities of the association between the plenary meetings. It has five members, four members are elected by the plenary meeting, and the fifth member is the executive director who is elected by the Executive Board.

Ing. Zdeněk Duba

Veolia Česká republika, a.s.

Ing. Pavel Bartoš

Krajská hospodářská komora MSK

Prof. Ing. Petr Stehlík, CSc

EVECO Brno, s.r.o.

Tomáš Závada  

INTOZA s.r.o.

Ing. Jan Poledník

NEK, z.s.



Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board has three members elected by the Plenary Meeting. The Supervisory Board elects its Chairman, who manages the activities of the Supervisory Board and the Vice-Chairman, who represents its Chairman in his absence.

Prof. Ing. Pavel Noskievič, CSc

VŠB-TU Ostrava, VEC


Ing. René Honiš

ČEPS, a.s.


Ing. Libor Prouza







Statutory representatives

Ing. Zdeněk Duba


Ing. Pavel Bartoš


Ing. Jan Poledník

výkonný ředitel